Welcome To Animecrave Sign In or Create Free Account
SPONSORS

Increase speed with DNS

Have questions, problems, or comments on Anime Crave? Post here and talk with anime crave staff members.

Moderator: Greg

Increase speed with DNS

Postby datamon » January 24th, 2012, 11:18 pm

Some of you have had poor video loading on Animecrave as well as the internet, but changing the primary DNS to 8.8.8.8 and the secondary
to 8.8.4.4 should help out. :D
User avatar
datamon
 
Points: 49.00
Posts: 49
Joined: June 16th, 2007, 4:06 pm

Postby Bassam » February 23rd, 2012, 7:53 pm

Did that really make a difference for you?

Just curious, can you like post speeds you would get with or without it?
Image
User avatar
Bassam
King
 
Points: 4243.00
Posts: 4227
Joined: May 16th, 2005, 11:01 pm

Speed boost

Postby datamon » February 24th, 2012, 12:20 am

I looked further into it and cable compaines are redirecting DNS lookups strictly back to there servers even after you change your DNS, so the google DNS 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 are kind of a gamble on speeds.

But then I realized I could get MY DNS from my ISP! 8 )
I was able to find everykind of DNS server from other ISP on the internet
real easy, my 5000 kbps max bandwidth was always hard to reach on Animecrave, But the speeds now, depending on HQ or HD difference the speeds were between 2000kbps 2800kbps average,
but now I got 3000 to 4300 just about till the video was fully done loading!

If you enter your DNS for both your network settings on your computer AND your router, it goes even further by getting rid of a lot of latency.
User avatar
datamon
 
Points: 49.00
Posts: 49
Joined: June 16th, 2007, 4:06 pm

Continuing from above

Postby datamon » February 24th, 2012, 12:28 am

Manually putting in your ISP specific DNS is also really good for gaming,
Call of Duty for example will have better target aquisition, shots are far more accurate, latency reduced, frame smoothness improves, and websites load relatively faster and smoother!

Any questions let me know.
User avatar
datamon
 
Points: 49.00
Posts: 49
Joined: June 16th, 2007, 4:06 pm

Postby Bassam » March 1st, 2012, 8:10 pm

I tried Media servers DNS & googles & no noticeable difference. Do you have to reboot for the DNS changes to take effect? Double you should have to but for me no noticeable difference. At some points I would get over 5000 but for the most part it stays around 3000.
Image
User avatar
Bassam
King
 
Points: 4243.00
Posts: 4227
Joined: May 16th, 2005, 11:01 pm

DNS

Postby datamon » March 1st, 2012, 9:43 pm

Maybe I exaggerated the increase by a little to much? :?
I have been changing modems and settings lately like crazy, sorry. I went from docsis 1.1 to 2.0 :oops:
But the DNS has helped me in many ways. Packets were definitely loaded quite quickly since I've changed the DNS, though.

Aside from that how did you get above 5000kbps?!! :(
What is your cable provider and internet package/price? I'm capable of reaching more than that, but it just doesn't.
User avatar
datamon
 
Points: 49.00
Posts: 49
Joined: June 16th, 2007, 4:06 pm

DNS

Postby datamon » March 1st, 2012, 9:50 pm

You don't have to reboot because the network reboots when you change the settings. Win 7 shows it reboot and connect to the internet from the network manager when you approve the changes.

You did say you used googles and the media dns? It's better to use the ISP one. googles has acted weird for the last few weeks and I saw no difference when using the site DNS.
User avatar
datamon
 
Points: 49.00
Posts: 49
Joined: June 16th, 2007, 4:06 pm

DNS

Postby datamon » March 2nd, 2012, 12:51 am

Sorry, looked back at it, and for a good period of time I was able to reach 4200-5200kbps! It was very frequent! Try using your Internet Service Provider DNS! Not google. For instance Timewarner cable is.

Primary 24.25.5.60
secondary 24.25.5.61
User avatar
datamon
 
Points: 49.00
Posts: 49
Joined: June 16th, 2007, 4:06 pm

Postby Bassam » March 29th, 2012, 3:16 pm

Honestly while it might help with improving latency a little I doubt it would actually change the speed much.

As for who my ISP is its comcast, but I'll be changing soon because they are to over priced :geek
Image
User avatar
Bassam
King
 
Points: 4243.00
Posts: 4227
Joined: May 16th, 2005, 11:01 pm


Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron

 
#bnccd01 #bnccd02 #bnccd04 #bnccd05 #bnccd03


SPONSORS

AC Shout Box - AC CHAT